Hello, world!

Standard

Alright. My first Blog!

I know I’m supposed to delete that title and make up my own, but c’mon, it seems fitting for my first post into the internet universe. I had always been adverse to the entire social media world. However, after giving it some time and thought, it seems that perhaps social media can in fact be a neat tool for exploring yourself, your life, other peoples lives, etc. Plus, I’m just trying everything I can because I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO WITH MY LIFE.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I have ideas. Lots and lots and lots of ideas. The problem is, I like to switch between them on a bi-weekly basis. If it’s a really good idea, I’ll stick with it for a month or two. But I inevitably change my mind. Over, and over, and over… for example, it’s taking me six years to get an undergraduate degree. In anthropology. Which is great, don’t get me wrong, it’s actually a pretty perfect major for someone like me. As a professor once said to my professor who once said it to me, “Anthropology is like an intellectual poaching license.” And I agree. I can bounce around from tribal rituals to wall street to herion addicts to organic farmers to Muslim family law without blinking an eye. Super cool, right? Anyway, the problem is, once you’ve gotten a B.A. you have to narrow your focus if you want to continue. So I have to pick one. Hello. I can’t pick out a diet plan or what I want to wear tomorrow, never mind something I have to commit time and money to for the NEXT TWO YEARS. Please. So, instead I’m trying to slowly develop the basic things I like and have liked for a long time. Like writing. And reading. And cooking. And eating. And my dogs. Well, they’re around regardless of what I do, but I  have liked them for a long time. I’ve also liked my friend Chelsea for a long time, which is why we’ve decided to open a bakery/brasserie/cafe situation (Again, not settling on one. sensing a pattern yet?) of our very own. We’ve both thought about it separately, and then one day we thought about it at the same time and BAM, a dream was born. It’s all very exciting. We don’t exactly have a business plan. Or the start up capital. Or our signature recipes. BUT I found an awesome green couch that we must have! It’s something, right? Anyway, it’s one of those big dreams that we have to make come true and I’m sure we’ll have some  hard knocks and learn some great life lessons along the way. Like in the movies.

I figure this blog is a great way to maintain my sanity, and perhaps figure out if this writing thing is also something I can pursue. Because for a Blog to be good, you have to actually do the blogging on a regular basis. Like taking care of a pet or shaving your legs. For them to be healthy and/or silky smooth, ya gotta log the hours. So, that’s what I’ll be doing. Good old fashioned finger work. like leg work but with my fingers. Yay.

So, here we go world!

On that note, here is a picture of the paradise that our bakery/brasserie/cafe will ideally be situated in.

Home Sweet Home

It’s got a trolley! What could possibly be wrong with it?!

2 responses »

  1. Hi, new bloggy blogger! I believe we have started on a great path that will lead to a great journey (with a few bumps along the way), which will take us to that bakery placed across the street from the trolly. Let’s make mistakes and have fun with it! We are twentysomethings! This is the time to be crazy and dream-filled. I love you and am excited about our future. Let’s work our ass off. It will all be worth it in the end, but hopefully worth it along the way as well.

Leave a Reply

